Religious Education Activities

Step on the campus any school day and the classrooms and halls are filled with activities that resonate with spirit of who we are as a Catholic School.  Faculty and staff strive to provide an environment that blends the academic  dimension of the school with the spiritual awareness of being created in the image and likeness of God.  Morning prayer, daily religion lessons, weekly Mass, retreats, Corporal and Spiritual Works of Mercy being lived out permeate the school.  The intangible gift of faith becomes tangible as the school community worships God and through the worship reach out to the community in sharing time, talent and treasure.

 

Sacramental preparation provides rich faith filled opportunities for spiritual growth through retreats, liturgies, meetings and practices.  Each even focuses on the personal encounter the sacraments provide within the context of community.

Overview of Religious Education Activities for 2016-2017 School Year

September Activities   Altar Server Training for grades 4 – 8:  Orientation – September 26:  Training – Week of September 27-30, 2016.

October Activities       Opening Exercises – During October and May the students will pray one decade of the rosary on Mondays and Wednesdays.  Students have rosaries available.

November Activities   All Saints’ Celebration – Students in third grade will select a saint and will dress and present a report on the life of the saint during the 8:15 a.m. Mass on Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Virtus Safe Touching Lessons – Friday, November 4, 2016.

Thanksgiving Mass – Tuesday, November 22, 2016 at 8:15 a.m.

December Activities   Advent Activities – Sacrament of Reconciliation (confession) Thursday, December 1, 2016, third through eighth grades – 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

First Reconciliation – second grade – Friday, December 2, 2016, after 8:15 a.m. Mass.

Our Lady of Guadalupe – Monday, December 12, 2016, 8:15 a.m. Mass – students will present the message of Juan Diego and the Virgin.

Community Outreach Projects. 

Christmas Eve– Saturday, December 24, 2016, 4:00 p.m. – first grade students will present the Lessons in the Carols  prior to 4:30 p.m. Mass.

January Activities        Confirmation Retreat – Saturday, January 21, 2017, 8:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.

February Activities      Catholic Schools Week – January 29 – February 3, 2017.

Grandparents Day – Friday, February 3, 2017, 8:15 a.m. Mass.

Assessment of Children/Youth Religious Education (ACRE) Wednesday, February 22 and Thursday February 23, 2017.

March Activities          Ash Wednesday – March 1, 2017, 8:15 Mass.

Sacrament of Reconciliation (confession) – Thursday, March 2, second through eighth grades – 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

First Communion Retreat – Friday March 3, 2017, 8:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

Stations of the Cross – Friday, March 10, 24, 31, 2017, – 2:00 p.m

First Communion – Saturday, March 25, 2017, 10:00 a.m. Mass.

April Activities             Holy Week Mass – Wednesday, April 12, 2017, 8:15 a.m.

Holy Thursday Mass – Thursday, April 13, 2017, 6:30 p.m. – Second grade students come in their Communion Attire and participate in the procession

Confirmation practice – Wednesday, April 26, 2017,  7:00 p.m.

Confirmation – Friday, April 28, 2017, 7:00 p.m.

May Activities             May Procession/Crowning – Friday, May 5, 2017, 8:15 a.m. Mass.  Passing of the Torch – Friday, May 26, 2017, 8:15 a.m. Mass.

June Activities             Graduation Mass – Friday, June 2, 2017, 5:00 p.m.

 Closing school Mass – Wednesday, June 7, 2017, – 8:15 a.m.